Daily Archives: October 20, 2017

Manly Neighbours

At first I thought that a Crane deck with Crab sub is going to be a mismatch. However, after playing around with the idea a bit, it’s actually a pretty solid pairing.

cranecommander

While Watch Commander is the star, the key ingredient to this deck is actually Hiruma Ambusher. Being able to shut off an ability for 2 Fate is really strong, especially when you’re facing a decked out Mirumoto Raitsugu that can eat up your skinny blue shirt guys alive.

On the Crane side, I reduced some of the 3-off staples. Main offenders:

Noble Sacrifice
Voice of Honor
Duelist Training
Assassination
Outwit

They’re either too expensive (yes, 1 Fate can be expensive when you didn’t pass first) or too situational. Voice of Honor and Noble Sacrifice isn’t as easy to play as I initially thought. And Crane don’t make good duelists. There, I said it. In the New5R, Dragons and Crabs are the top duelists of the land. Until we see a Political duel, Military duels are often losing propositions unless you pick on the little guys. But Kaezin is pretty ok I left a couple of copies of him in.

The deck has a lot more singletons than I would like, they’re often cards that can provide an unexpected bonus when you have it in your hand.

If you’re playing in https://mahois.fun , look me up (almond55). I often set up games with “open game” as the title in casual so we can try out wonky decks together and practice.