Black White Pauper

I’ve always been a fan of Black White in MTG. While I like standard format for ease of cards to get, I also find that with my current expenditure allowance, buying L5R, Hordes and PS3 games, my gaming budget is always at ceiling limit, leaving little room for me to keep up with buying MTG Standard.

That being said, in a post previously, I have dabbled into playing Modern Pauper for MTG, for one, it’s cheaper, with cards being around RM1-2 per playset and some even free… if i managed to get from people who crack packs by boxes… I tried to build modern decks, but the cardpool around here is a bit diminished. Almost nobody has spare of Kamigawa block cards, I was trying to build pauper Kamigawa block, and a few staples that nobody has spare from Ravnica and Shards Alara block. It’s frustating indeed.

Taking a queue from Little Sensei, after i nudged him enough times to play Pauper, he built his entire deck from Innistrad. So i figured, what the heck. If Innistrad could do it, why not just build from Standard? Frankly, I was too focused on older cards.. nostalgia maybe..

So I did, although a few cards I happen to use from M11 mainly due to it’s efficiency.

Land (22)
10 Swamp
10 Plains
2 Terramorphic Expanse (this deck can drop every turn, this is only necessary to bring out the other land as needed. If I can get Orzhov Basilica or Orzhov Signet, I will use those to stabilise the mana)

Spells (15)
2 Flayer Husk
1 Nihil Spellbomb (Graveyard removal)
2 Sylvok Lifestaff
2 Bonds of Faith
4 Ichor Wellspring (Draw Tech + Combo with Glint Hawk)
2 Pacifism (to deal with nasty ability creatures)
2 Revoke Existence (At times, exile is better than destroy)

Creatures (23)
4 Doomed Traveler
4 Fume Spitter
4 Glint Hawk (Bounce Ichor)
2 Perilous Myr
2 Vault Skirge
4 Phyrexian Rager
1 Village Bell-Ringer (Untap tech)
2 Gravedigger (recursion for Bell-ringer)

It’s cheap to build, and frankly i didn’t spend on these anymore than RM5. As most of the innistrad commons people tends to let go for free. Thanks to Lilyana, everyone open packs of Innistrad. So commons are in abundance for now, making the best time to grab the commons.

I will field test this further in a tourney next week, but I expect some of the modern decks to be more vicious, especially red deck wins common variant.

Posted on November 2, 2011, in CCG, Inzen-San, MTG, Pauper. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

