Cheap Magic!

Recently broke down and made a pauper Innistrad deck for a song and dance. The best part about getting commons for a new set is that everyone has loads of them to give away/sell cheap for bulk (this is true if you’re nice to people).

I had no idea what I wanted to build when I start taking some 200 common cards, but in the end, I built a deck that is fun enough for me to play and gave me an idea for a new one:

OMG, they killed Kenny! Again!

4 Shimmering Grotto
6 Forest
7 Plains
(17 lands)

4 Thraben Sentry/Thraben Militia
4 Selfless Cathar (a.k.a. Kenny)
4 Doomed Traveler (also Kenny, but not as awesome as the one on top)
4 Unruly Mob
2 Avacynian Priest
2 Elder Cathar
2 Silverchase Fox
3 Avacyn’s Pilgrim
2 Woodland Sleuth
(27 creatures)

4 Bonds of Faith
(4 enchantments)

2 Spare from Evil
4 Prey Upon
4 Travel Preparations
2 Ranger’s Guile
(12 spells)

Nothing too fancy, just weenie beatdown. I also discovered that Morbid can be loads of fun. Suddenly all my future decks seem bright with Selfless Cathar in it. He’ll work really well with the Innistrad boars and red’s shooty spell. Good times to be having such ideas 🙂 I’ll try and make a passable werewolf deck next. It’s tough, the mana isn’t too friendly at the moment. I’ll have to break out of my “Innistrad only” mould first.

Posted on October 24, 2011, in MTG, The Little Sensei and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

